Please Vote No on 1

yardsign.jpg

Never before have I had such a hard time trying to figure out how to word something. I really find it difficult to express how I feel right now. Health insurance is a big deal for me. I have never really had any, at least not till I met Todd.

You see, Todd works for a company that offers domestic partner insurance. Basically, if you are living with an adult you consider a “life partner” for a period of time. You can be covered under the policy.

Now if this amendment to our constitution is passed. Not only will it be discrimination in our constitution, it could also ultimately make me and those heterosexuals that do not want to get married lose their health coverage.

Here’s an insert from the Vote NO on 1 campaign.

The Tennessee Constitution of 1870 has only been amended a handful of times. It has never been amended to restrict the rights and liberties of the Tennessee people.

The amendment currently under consideration would be the only one that would single out one class of Americans for discrimination by ensuring that same-sex couples would not be granted the equal protections that marriage brings to Tennessee families.

Moreover, the amendment could go even further by stripping same-sex couples of some of the more limited protections they now have, such as access to health insurance for domestic partners and their children.

Neither enshrining discrimination in our Constitution nor stripping thousands of families of basic protections would serve our state’s best interest. The Constitution is supposed to protect and ensure equal treatment for all people. It should not be used to single out a group of people for different treatment.

As long as I can remember, I do not remember ever feeling like I can not do something. I do remember being made fun of as a kid, but that is different.

If this vote passes, I will be like the african american back in the 40’s punished, always looking over my shoulder to see who’s making fun this time, or who’s got the bat to hit me first.

What is it going to be people? Discrimination? Hate crime? I certainly hope not.

Please vote no on 1 on November 7th

Explore posts in the same categories: About Me, Nashville

5 Comments on “Please Vote No on 1”

  1. mark Says:

    I registered this year so i could vote no on this issue plus get some people in office that care…..i will be voting no!!

  2. Nathan Says:

    I hate to appear vulnerable, but when I saw a bumper sticker that said “Vote Yes on 1” on this soccer Mom’s minivan today, I honestly felt like pulling over to cry.

    Throughout my childhood, I was picked on by bullies. Now, as an adult, I feel like we are being bullied again… this time, at a state level. So that’s what happened to the bullies… they grew up to be politicians.

    Thanks for posting a link to this website. I cannot even believe this topic is going on. How did hate make itself onto the bumpers of cars?

  3. Kathy T. Says:

    Well I’ll be voting NO. It just makes me mad to see when people are treated “less” than everyone else. Grrrr.

  4. Chip Says:

    One morning, I drove into my high school neighborhood and saw a “Vote yes to 1” sign. My heart literally sank. I was like you Nathan, I wanted to pull over and cry.

    I want to go and get signs to put up in my neighborhood.

  5. mark Says:

    hey chip read the update on dnj ..nissan is allowing insuance for ame sex couples now…this is a mile stone for us…yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaa….hey nathan whats going on?


Leave a Reply

