About Me Part 2

Sometimes I wonder where I would be had the Navy allowed me into service. Would I be married with kids, hiding who I really was? Would I come out and be proud, only to be thrown out for being the human god intended?

Yes, that’s right folks, I wanted to be a military man. My uncle was in the navy, he inspires me. Growing up, he was the one person I loved to see visit. Especially during the holidays.

When I would see my uncle, I would run after him with arms wide open. He would pick me up and throw me into the air. He is my inspiration. I aspire to be an uncle in his image.

As I got older, I went to see a navy recruiter. We talked for an hour or so. When we got to the health issues, he asked me if I had asthma. Of course I said yes and there went my chances of enlistment.

But that’s ok. Even though I did not get to serve my country, I feel as though I am doing a good job at being an uncle. I have two wonderful neices, and a fantastic nephew. My pride and joys. They live in Texas and although I do not see them often, they are often in my thoughts.

Sis, if you are reading this, I LOVE YOU and the KIDS.!

Also, a wonderful friend wrote a great piece about me.

Here’s an insert

Chip’s Mom did live long enough to see her first granddaughter, Alexis. Alexis is now 8 and Chip calls her his “Little Giggle Butt.” He has another niece, Erin, who is 3 and is his “Princess.” His “Pride and Joy” is his nephew, Jordan, who is 5. They call him “Uncle Wayne” even though his name is DeWayne. He never corrected them when they dropped the “De” from “Wayne” so Wayne is a special name reserved for those children who are such an important part of his life. Chip doesn’t see them often enough, but they did spend a week with him this past summer. He is hoping to see them over the holidays

Go read it here

Explore posts in the same categories: About Me

One Comment on “About Me Part 2”

  1. M. Says:

    We could’ve been friends. I needed a friend like you when I was in.


Leave a Reply

