Cars and their Past

It’s often mistaken for an interstate.  State Route 840 is definitly one of those roads you have to travel to admire the landscape.  I have to agree with an opinion published in todays’s DNJ.

The writer talks about the abandon cars, or the cars that look like they are on their last legs, and the milestones people and their cars have gone through.

One paragraph really stood out to me, it reminded me of what my mother drove and how our lives were so different then.

“To me, they appear as if testimonies to the hard-scrabble lives so many of our people live. They ask so little, really, if you take the time to look. But, do we, the fortunate, really look, or want to see”

Our family traveled in a 1970 something toyota corolla.  We also owned a chevy chevette.  Those were two cars I will always remember. They always got us from point A, to point B, and back again.  Neither one had a/c and I can often remember the radio blaring because we couldn’t hear for the wind blowing throught the windows.

Anyhow, here’s the link to the article, take a look, it’s a good read.

Explore posts in the same categories: About Me, General

2 Comments on “Cars and their Past”

  1. Kathy T. Says:

    I :::loved::: my Chevy Chevette! I loved driving a stick shift. It was a trustworthy little car I drove when I was in a more “unknown” time of my life – on the verge of becoming a real adult from late teens and early 20s. Those were the days!

  2. Dewayne Says:

    you better believe those were the days.


Leave a Reply

