Medical Center Parkway

How do you explain a road that is built for one purpose but then after the road is built, another purpose comes up?

What I am talking about is the new Medical Center Parkway in Murfreesboro. What I thought was suppose to be a good way to relieve traffic isn’t. As the road is right now, you can get from the interstate almost to MTSU with ease. The city currently is taking bids on installing not one red light, but SIX!

Excuse me? Are you trying to create another Old Fort Parkway? I hate driving to Murfreesboro, the traffic is horendous. When Medical Center Parkway opened, I’ve been to the boro about 6 times. (it hasn’t been open a year yet.) Compare that to 3 or 4 times last year.

So City officials, go ahead and install the traffic lights. I’ll make my way to Nashville, or Hickory Hollow for all my shopping needs. The only shop you offer me anyway is JC Penny.

“The traffic lights would be spaced a little more than a quarter mile apart and would include lights for turning lanes both on and off of Medical Center Parkway, City Traffic Engineer Ram Balachandran said.”

Oh before I forget, here is what the dnj reports.

This comment wraps my feelings up.

Medical Center Parkway is one of the only routes that allow motorists to bypass the traffic congestion and subsequent delays in Murfreesboro. Adding traffic lights will make Medical Center Parkway no different than Old Fort Parkway or Memorial. Hitting the freeway and driving to Smyrna to shop or bank sounds better and better all the time. I can drive there in the same amount of time it takes to get through town.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

2 Comments on “Medical Center Parkway”

  1. Ginger Says:

    SIX lights?!? Where the hell are they gonna put ’em? That road isn’t long enough to fit them all!

    Glad I didn’t get a job down there…

  2. Chip Says:

    Yeah, that’s what I’m thinking.


Leave a Reply

