You Are So Missed

 Seven years ago today a very dear person was taken from me. My mom. No matter what I did, or what I said, she was there. She was the one person that cared NO MATTER WHAT.

It was all so sudden. I can remember it like it was yesterday. All week my mom had talked about fixing her favorite meal. Chicken livers, mashed potatoes, and sweet peas. She did. Thursday April 27th 2000 she had them for her lunch.

You see I was so fortunate to have her move in with me in January of 2000. She had rented her home in Alabama to one her best friends, who later showed she wasn’t a friend at all. that’s another story. She lived with me and we had the best of times getting closer.

The night she passed I was with a friend on a field trip. It rained so the trip had been cut short and I was able to get home just in time to see mom on her lunch break, which was 6:30 pm. It was just a few minutes after she had left I heard the ambulance then the phone rang. It was 911. They needed her medication. Luckily she worked across the street.

I called my aunt, she lived just behind us, and we raced across the street. Mom was in a stretcher in the back of the ambulance. It all went so fast. Next they were transporting her to the E.R. By now it was about 7:50 and at 8:04 they came out and gave us the news.

Mom was pronounced dead.

It’s still very surreal. When in fact it is very real. I have to bring this poem to the front because it is what I wrote the night she passed

https://chiptalks.wordpress.com/mom/

moms2.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: General

6 Comments on “You Are So Missed”

  1. Nathan Says:

    Ohhh Dewayne 😦 I wish I could have met her. Gosh, it’s amazing how fast people can be taken out of our lives. I’m sending a huge hug your way.

  2. Kathy T. Says:

    What a sad anniversary. I sure wish I’d had the opportunity to meet her because she seems like she was an amazing person. My thoughts are with you today.


  3. […] Dewayne remembers his friend, his mother: It was all so sudden. I can remember it like it was yesterday. All week my mom had talked about fixing her favorite meal. Chicken livers, mashed potatoes, and sweet peas. She did. Thursday April 27th 2000 she had them for her lunch. […]

  4. Ginger Says:

    This is me hugging you. {{{{Dewayne}}}}

  5. Chip Says:

    Thank you all for you thoughts and hugs! All in all it hasn’t been a bad day. If fact it’s been pleasant. I had my sad moment last night. She died on a Thursday of a heart attack. I just realized I didn’t post the cause of death.


Leave a Reply

